Do You Suffer From Decision Fatigue? – NYTimes.com

Do You Suffer From Decision Fatigue? – NYTimes.com.

I found this article very interesting.  And yes, I do suffer from decision fatigue.  I can say that at 5:12am, you see.  Ask me again at 6pm and I might have a different answer.  Or I might not.  I don’t know yet!

This entry was posted in Random. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Do You Suffer From Decision Fatigue? – NYTimes.com

  1. I absolutely suffer from decision fatigue on a regular basis. In fact, I remember hearing about the idea of decision fatigue a few years back (I believe in relation to the book “The Paradox of Choice: Why More is Less” http://books.google.com/books?id=zutxr7rGc_QC&vq=barry+schwartz+paradox+contents)

    I think that it’s a very real, and often underestimated issue. Just look at the grocery store, for example. How many different brands of sugar are there? How many different brands of the same “cheerio-like” cereals? (Or worse, how many different brands/types of the same exact marshmallow cereals where the only real difference is the shapes?) How many different car brands, and within just one brand, how many types of cars? A far cry from the days of Henry Ford, when, as he said in his autobiography “Any customer can have a car painted any colour that he wants so long as it is black”!

    And then when you take the internet and the options offered THERE into consideration….

Thoughts?

