A new kind of weight-loss program

Ten weeks ago I decided I really needed to be proactive about losing this baby weight.  I mean, my baby is in high school now (I kid!  My youngest is just over a year).  I have been trying the old-fashioned exercise program of vigorously hoping for 30 minutes a day, 6 days a week.  Would you believe I didn’t lose a pound?  I know, I was shocked too.

So, I finally hunkered down and stopped kidding myself.  I’ve replaced hoping with running and gosh darn it, that works!  Why didn’t I think of this 10 months ago?  But, that’s not news.  No, the secret I am going to share with you, the secret that will make you shed the pounds faster than you can count (20 and counting for me!  20 more to go) is all right here. You can thank me later.

Observe my biggest weight loss tool:

Season 1

Jack Bauer

That’s right, folks.  I know some of you are thinking….Huh?  Understandable.  But before you give up on me let me tell you this – I credit this man with all of my weight loss so far and I am counting on him for future weight loss.  Picture this: New York, 2011, my basement.  I’m on the treadmill trying to find something on the shiny new t.v. I bought exclusively for working out and nothing is catching my eye.  I get bored, I cheat, I stop working out, I feel guilty.  My plan wasn’t working.  Then, I get the urge to go back and watch Season 1 of 24 again.  My husband and I had just watched the series finale (ahem, 1 year after it aired.  Don’t judge me, my DVR has been full since my youngest was born!) and I thought, you know, it’s been so many years since I saw the first season I would like to go back and watch again.  I remembered the shocker ending, but surprisingly nothing that happened beforehand.

One thing I must tell you about right this second is that since I became a Mommy my memory is just….wait, wasn’t I telling you a story?

So, I acquire Season 1 and my big plan is to watch it while I workout because I don’t have time to watch during the day and my bedtime is embarrassingly early.  In fact, my bedtime was an hour ago, but I am here to help you on your weight loss quest!  Put down the Lean Cuisine!  Jack Bauer is the path to a sexy new you.  Yes, you!

Off I go, down to the cold and lonely basement.  Hop on my hamster wheel and turn on my show.  If you’ve never seen 24, well for one you are missing out for sure, but two I don’t want to spoil anything in case you do end up watching it, so leave now.  If you have seen it you’ll know what I mean.

This will get your adrenaline pumping:

Season 1

Jack Bauer knows how to get what he wants

So will this, but I digress:

Kiefer Sutherland

This makes me happy

Aaaaaaanyway, the point is that every time there is a chase scene or a torture scene I get completely lost in it.  I don’t watch the clock on the treadmill and I can push myself to go faster without even concentrating on it.  So thank you, Jack Bauer.  Thank you very much.  I hope that when I have lost the final few pounds I will be worthy of one of your chase scenes.  I won’t even begin to hope I will be strong enough to endure your brand of torture, though.  I mean, come on.  It’s Jack Frickin’ Bauer.

“Who are you working for?!!!”

Me: “AIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!!!!!!!!” *runs faster, runs harder*

Try it.  It will work for you.  Come back and we’ll share our favorite 24 moments.  And now I must go to bed, for Jack and I have a date at 2pm tomorrow (also known as nap time in this house).

This entry was posted in Exercise, Television and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A new kind of weight-loss program

  1. Melissa S. says:

    I love this! TV series are my secret treadmill addiction too. It really makes the time fly by. You’re doing great on dropping that baby weight!

Thoughts?

